Cristiane could be a Red Star

13 01 2009
2008 Olympic Golden Boot Winner

2008 Olympic Golden Boot Winner

What grabbed me most of all when I read through some AP news on Marta’s signing with the LA Sol, were comments from the other Brazilian goal scoring sensation, Cristiane. “I will go to Chicago in February,” she said through an interpreter. “I am going to see if I can do the best I can. There are a number of Brazilian girls playing there. We have many people looking forward to a great career.”  I hope she brings a warm coat, holy crap. What a time to bring a brazilian in, but she’s played in Sweden and Germany so I think she’ll be ready. The LA Times had this little nugget: Tonya Antonucci, the commissioner of WPS, said she expected Marta and her Brazilian teammate, Cristiane, who is negotiating a move to the Chicago Red Stars, would help the new league by “raising our visibility both in the U.S. and globally.” This is some pretty good news after finding out US National and Chicago Red Star Kate Markgraf was going to miss the first season. Do you think she’ll come?  Do you think her and Linsdsay Tarpley could partner into a deadly strike force?

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 01 2009
Brad

I have not seen Christiane play club soccer, nor have I seen her against non U-23 opponents (i.e. non-olympic play), however, what I saw from her in China this year was INSANE. It made me wonder… Marta-who?

16 01 2009
Leyla

Cristiane is amazing, I think Marta is still more skillful but Cristiane is the best next thing.

Leave a Reply

