Queensland Roar – Australian Champions

21 01 2009

The Westfield- W-League

The Westfield- W-League

The final match the crown the champion of Australia’s new W-League was held just a few days ago, with the Queensland Roar grabbing the honors. They had to go into penatly kicks in their semi-final match after going through extra time periods tied at 1 with Sydney FC, and who was unable to convert the sixth kick penalty? It was Sarah Walsh, of the new Sky Blue FC. The final wasn’t as close as the previous for Queensland as they shut out Canberra United for a 2-0 win. The Queensland Roar also finished the season with the best record. Twenty two year old Leena Khamis of Sydney FC won the golden boot with 7 goals in 10 games. Queensland Roar’s Lana Harch won Player of the Year, and Melbourne Victory’s Melissa Barbieri was named Goalkeeper of the Year.
Are you interested in the Australian W-Leauge? Do you think you will see a fair amount of WPS players head there for their October-January season on-loan? Perhaps it will be a top scouting ground for your team or even the expansion franchises of 2010.



One response

13 02 2009
Sam The Dog

Nothing makes a Queenslander prouder than that birght *orange* shirt.

Oh wait…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: