Holy shiTwitter.

21 03 2009

I love the use of technology. When it comes to soccer in the United States, a large part of it has lived on the internet. The rise of the US Womens and Mens National teams along with professional leagues since the early 90s has parralleled this amazingly powerful and cheap way for soccer coverage and discussion to live and grow. BigSoccer, Facebook, Youtube, blogs, streaming matches, I used them or still do use them quite frequently to follow soccer both home and abroad. I was extremely excited to hear that MLS would be doubling the quality of their online streamings of games. But when I heard that the WPS was going to have in-game tweets from players, I felt uneasy. I knew the first place I had to go is Amanda Vandervort’s blog, where of course the top post was a collection of all the people and players that could be followed on Twitter.
Amanda is a no doubt a up to speed tech guru, and I see the sense in having certain people of WPS having blogs and twittering, but I do not like top executives, coaches twittering, nor do I like the idea of players twittering during games.
First, Twitter is for a small quick snippet on the go. For me, if an executive or coach has something to say it should be thought out and have a certain amount of depth to it. Not a 140 byte length snippet. In my opinion, those people should use blogs.
Players could and should use it. I can see it being a useful thing to have players post tweets throughout the week like “ankle is still sore, saturday is still a maybe” or “very positive in training to day, ready for Sunday”. It could even be a personal message like “tonight is a pasta night”. I am totally against (until proven wrong I guess) the idea of players tweeting for the sidelines of a match. I think is not where the focus of the players should be, and it opens up a whole can of worms for what they could say, how it would be interpreted, what kind of statements would you get from bench players, and why would you follow thoughts of a bench player when the game is going on.
I enjoy twitter, and have signed up to the WPS feed, and probably to others, but not all of them. What do you think?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

